When it comes to getting a speeding ticket, there are a number of things you should know about. Virginia has a very specific set of laws pertaining to traffic tickets. It is a good idea to learn these laws and what you can do to protect yourself. Want to explore other states as well? We also have an informative article about speeding in Texas.
Table of Contents
Everything To Know About Speeding Tickets in Virginia
If you get a speeding ticket in Virginia for 1 to 9 miles per hour over the speed limit, you will get three points on your license. You can get four points on your license for going 10-19 mph over the limit. There is also the possibility of getting six points on your license if you drive in excess of 80 mph or 20 miles per hour over the posted speed limit.
The amount of time that points stay on your license will depend on the specifics of your ticket. It can take several years before your points come off, depending on the specific charges. DMV demerit points stay on your driving record for at least two years.
The state of Virginia gives all drivers one Safe Point for each calendar year they go without any violations or suspensions. You can accumulate up to five of these safe points. These points can actually help you save money on your car insurance. This provides you with an additional incentive to drive safely on the road at all times. More details here: https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/drivers/#points_assess.asp.
When you receive a speeding ticket, you have the option of pleading guilty. This means that you agree to pay the fine that is associated with the violation. You will only have a certain amount of time to pay the fine. Make sure that you look at the ticket to find out how much time you have. You don’t want to exceed this period, as the court will likely issue a bench warrant.
You can choose to plead guilty and enroll in a Driver Improvement Clinic. This is an effective way to avoid getting points on your license. Keep in mind that not everyone qualifies for Driver Improvement School. It is important that you find out what the requirements are before deciding what to do about your ticket.
Taking a driver improvement course is an especially good option to consider if you have a fairly clean driving record. If this is your very first speeding ticket, you’ll most likely be allowed to do this. While it is not absolutely ideal, it will prevent points from going on your record. If you accumulate enough points, your license can be suspended.
Requested a Contested Hearing
There is also the option of pleading not guilty for your speeding ticket. This basically means that you agree to show up in court to dispute your ticket. You also have the option of hiring a lawyer to come to court on your behalf. There are also more things you can do to get your speeding ticket dismissed.
While some people do decide to hire a lawyer to fight their traffic ticket, it is usually for serious charges. If you have been charged with reckless driving or DUI, you will definitely need to hire a criminal attorney. Those who are just contesting a normal speeding ticket don’t necessarily need legal representation.
If you are going to challenge the ticket on your own without an attorney, you’ll have to present the court with substantial evidence. Take the time to collect all of the necessary documentation to give yourself the best chance of a favorable outcome.
You also have the option of contesting your speeding ticket in Virginia by phone using the Off the Record app. This mobile app is completely free and gives you a convenient means of doing this. While only five percent of Virginians contest their tickets, it is a good idea.
Even if you don’t get your speeding ticket dismissed, you can still potentially have it reduced so you don’t get any points. Depending on how much leverage you have, you could get quite a good outcome.
If the judge ultimately decides to dismiss your ticket, you will not have to pay any penalties. You might, however, have to pay some court fees. Keep in mind that the judge will decide what to do with regards to your ticket. You are always taking your chances when going to court, but it is often worth it because of the potential benefits.
Paying Your Speeding Ticket
You should have no problem with paying your speeding ticket, as there are numerous options available. You will be able to pay the fines you owe in person at the courthouse in the jurisdiction where the ticket was issued. There is also the option of going online to take care of your fine.
You can also mail in your ticket with the payment in the form of a check or money order. It is better to do it in person or online, as both of these options are far more secure. There is always the chance that your payment could get lost in the mail.
If you admit guilt but fail to pay your fine within the allotted amount of time, your license could get suspended. This largely depends on the severity of the charges, but it’s still something that you should consider.
Cost of Speeding Tickets in Virginia
There is typically a $6 fine for each mph over the speed limit, though this amount goes up to $7 per mph in school work zones. You can expect to pay $8 per mph if you are issued a ticket for speeding in a residential area, with an additional $200.
If you are cited for speeding on the highway, you can be fined anywhere from $200 all the way up to $500. The average speeding ticket in this state costs around $350. (If you want to see speeding info for New York, proceed HERE.)
Wonder how it is for other states as well? You can see check our speeding ticket calculator for reference.
If you get charged with reckless driving, you could face up to $2,500 in fines and a six-month license suspension. This charge also comes with a maximum sentence of 12 months in jail. It is crucial that you hire an attorney who specializes in these charges if you are facing them.
So to save yourself from all the hassle and costs, avoid getting speeding tickets as much as you can. We’ve summed up some helpful tips for you on this guide.