Speeding Ticket Calculator for US - Fines Costs in Every State - RatedRadarDetector
RRD is reader-supported. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a commission. Read more.

Speeding Ticket Calculator for US – Fines Costs in Every State

Without fighting the ticket, the penalty will be:

Each year, millions of speeding tickets are issued in the U.S. While the average fine costs around $150, some states can issue a fine of up to $2000. In some cases, a driver might be even given jail time.

Got a speeding ticket lately? Or just curious about how much would speeding cost in your state? Each state has different laws when it comes to speeding and determining your base fine, added fees and total fine can be confusing sometimes.

That’s why we’ve gathered data on the costs of speeding tickets in every U.S state.

How Much Will You Pay For Speeding in Any State?

Alabama

The fine for speeding in Alabama is quite low compared to other states, but the total you’re going to pay is bumped up with court costs.

ViolationFine & PenaltyCourt CostTotal
Less than 25 MPH over Posted Speed Limit$20.00$204.00$224.00
25 MPH or more over Posted Speed Limit$40.00$204.00$244.00

Speeding in a construction zone:

ViolationFine & PenaltyCourt CostTotal
Less than 25 MPH over Posted Speed Limit$40.00$204.00$244.00
25 MPH or more over Posted Speed Limit$80.00$204.00$284.00

Alaska

Alaska has an absolute speeding law, so even if you drive just one mile per hour above the posted limit, you’re already in violation. Here’s a quick list of the speed limits in different areas:

  • 65 mph: On certain Alaska interstate sections; outside urban areas with less than 50,000 population
  • 25 mph: All residential areas
  • 20 mph: All business districts
  • 15 mph: All alleys and by-lanes

If you’re a first-time violator, the penalties are as follows:

  • A fine not exceeding $300
  • Suspension of license of not more than a month

If you have a reckless driving citation, the penalties are as follows:

  • A fine not exceeding $1000
  • Jail time of not more than 90 days
  • Suspension of license for a maximum of six months

Arizona

The state of Arizona has pretty straightforward penalties which largely depend on how many miles you’re going above the limit

Violation: Speed Over the LimitAverage Fine
1-10 mph over$169.64
11-15 mph over$215.18
16-20 mph over$249.89
21-25 mph over$308.75
26-30 mph over$361.89
31-35 mph over$404.74
36-40 mph over$469.37
41-45 mph over$576.12
46-50 mph over$681.77
51-55 mph over$732.50
56-60 mph over$865.00
61-65 mph over$935.00

Arkansas

In Arkansas, you may get jail time together with or instead of fines.

Speeding in regular roads:

ViolationPenalty
First violation (within a year)up to $100 in fines and/or a maximum of ten days in jail.
Second violation (within a year)up to $200 in fines and/or a maximum 20 days in jail.
Third violation (within a year)up to $500 in fines and/or a maximum of 6 months in jail.
Exceeding limit by more than 15 miles per hour (Note: This is classified as a Class C misdemeanor)up to $500 in fines and a maximum of 30 days in jail.

Speeding in school zones:

ViolationPenalty
First offense (within a year)$25-$100 in fines OR 1-10 days in jail
Second offense (within 1 year)$50-$250 in fines and/or 5-25 days in jail
Third or subsequent offense (within 1 year)$250 or more than $1000 and/or 25 days - 6 months in jail

California

California’s speeding penalties differ whether you’re driving on regular roads, construction zones, and safety enhancement zones.

Speeding in regular roads:

Violation: Speed Over the LimitPenalty
1-15 mph over$238 + (1) DMV point
16 - 25 mph over$367 + (1) DMV point
26+ mph over$490 + (1) DMV point
over 100mph$900 fine and (2) DMV points

Speeding in construction zones:

Violation: Speed Over the LimitPenalty
1-15 mph over$367 + (1) DMV point
16 - 25 mph over$525 + (1) DMV point
26+ mph over$648 + (1) DMV point

Speeding in safety enhancement zones:

Violation: Speed Over the LimitPenalty
1-15 mph over$280 + (1) DMV point
16 - 25 mph over$409 + (1) DMV point
26+ mph over$532 + (1) DMV point

Colorado

Colorado also has pretty straightforward speeding fines which may or may not come with jail time, although both may be imposed.

ViolationFineSurchargeJail Time
1 to 4 mph over$30$6None
5 to 9 mph over$70$10None
10 to 19 mph over$135$16None
20 to 24 mph over$200$32None
25 or more mph over$150-$300Not Applicable10-90 days
25 or more mph over in a construction zone$300-$1,000Not Applicable10 days–1 year
Driving at a speed that is not reasonable and prudent given road conditions (Class A traffic infraction)$100$10None
Driving at such a slow speed that the normal and reasonable forward movement of traffic is impeded (Class A traffic infraction)$50$6None
Exceeding a safe speed on a bridge or elevated structure (Class A traffic infraction)$30$6None

Connecticut

Fines in Connecticut are a bit different as there are other fees charged on top of the base fine. Here’s a simple breakdown:

 Base FineAdditional ChargesTotal
General Drivers$35 to $90Special Transportation Fund Surcharge: $17.5 - $45$122.5 - $212
Police Training Fee: $5 - $12
Municipality Fee: $10
Court cost assessment: $15
Court cost surcharge: $35
Traumatic Brain Injury Fund Assessment: $5
Speeding in state highway construction zone, utility work zone or school zone$157.5 - $302
Truck Drivers$100 to $150Special Transportation Fund Surcharge: $50 - $75$228 - $309
Police Training Fee: $13 - $19
Court cost assessment: $15
Court cost surcharge: $35
Traumatic Brain Injury Fund Assessment: $5
Municipality Fee: $10
Speeding in state highway construction zone, utility work zone or school zone$157.5 - $302

Breakdown of additional fees:

  • Special Transportation Fund Surcharge: 50% of the assessed fine
  • Police Training Fee: additional fee of $1 for every $8 of fine, or any fraction thereof
  • Court cost assessment: $15
  • Court cost surcharge: $20 for base fine lower than $35 | $35 for a base fine of $35 or more
  • Traumatic Brain Injury Fund Assessment: $5 (applicable to those convicted of speeding, reckless driving, or drunk driving)
  • Municipality Fee: $10
  • When speeding occurs in  (1) state highway construction zone, (2) utility work zone, or (3) school zone: Additional amount is 100% of the assessed base fine

Delaware

Delaware has a base fine for speeding less than 5 miles over the posted limit and adds an additional dollar for every exceeding mile.

ViolationFine
Speeding less than 5mph overFirst offense: $20
Subsequent offense (within a year): $25
Speeding by over 5mphFirst offense: Additional $1/mile
Subsequent offense: Additional $2/mile
Speeding by over 15mphFirst offense: Additional $2/mile
Subsequent offense : Additional $3/mile
Speeding by over 19 mphFirst offense: Additional $3/mile
Subsequent offense : Additional $4/mile

Florida

Fines and penalties in Florida are handled on a county-by-county basis, but they follow a general structure.

Speeding in a posted zone:

Violation: Speed Over the LimitPenalty
1 – 5 mphUsually Let Go
6 – 9 mph$118.00-$151.00
10 – 14 mph$193.00-$226.00
15 – 19 mph$243.00-$276.00
20 – 29 mph$268.00-$301.00
30 or more mph$343.00-$376.00

Speeding in a school zone:

Violation: Speed Over the LimitPenalty
1 – 5 mph$50.00-$143.00
6 – 9 mph$143.00-$176.00
10 – 14 mph$293.00-$326
15 – 19 mph$393.00-$426.00
20 – 29 mph$443.00-$476
30 or more mph$555.50-$588.00

Georgia

Georgia’s first speeding penalty is $1000. Jail time is also possible if the driver is uncooperative.

Speeding in a posted zone:

Violation: Speed Over the LimitFine
1 – 5 mph$0
6 – 10 mph$25
11 – 14 mph$100
15 – 18 mph$125
19 – 23 mph$150
24 – 32 mph$500

Speeding in a highway work zone: $100 to $2000 and/or a maximum of 12 months jail time

There may be additional fees depending on the judge.

Super Speeder Fee: Additional charge of $200 if you’re caught going at least 85 miles per hour or at least 75 miles per hour on a two-lane roadway.

Hawaii

The maximum speed limit in Hawaii is known to be the lowest in the country, and the state also follows an absolute speed limit like Alaska does.

ViolationPenaltySurcharge
Speeding 1 -10 mph over the limitFirst offense: Maximum of $200$25
Second offense (within a year): Maximum of $300$25
Third or subsequent offense (within a year): Maximum of $500$25
Speeding 11 mph or higher over the limitFirst offense: Maximum of $200$25 + additional $10 surcharge
Second offense (within a year): Maximum of $300$25 + additional $10 surcharge
Third or subsequent offense (within a year): Maximum of $500$25 + additional $10 surcharge

Idaho

Idaho is one of the states that charge lower speeding fines compared to other states. Furthermore, it also has the highest number of tickets issued.

Speeding in a posted zone:

Violation: Speed Over the LimitFine
1 – 20 mph$50
21 mph and higher$100

Speeding in a construction zone: Additional $50

Speeding in a school zone: Minimum of $120 inclusive of court fees and fines

Illinois

The speeding fines in Illinois can be quite expensive, and they also use a point system for violations.

Speeding in regular roads:

Violation: Speed Over the LimitFine
1 – 20 mph$120
21 – 25 mph$140
26 – 34 mphMaximum of $1500 and/or up to 6 months jail time
35 mph or higher$2,500 and/or up to 12 months jail time

Speeding in construction zones:

Violation: Speed Over the LimitFine
First offense$250 - $1000
Second offense$300 - $1000

Speeding in school zones:

Violation: Speed Over the LimitFine
First offense$150 - $1000
Second offense$300 - $1000

Indiana

Speeding violations in Indiana are more general, but charges double if you’re speeding in a construction zone or school zone.

  • General fine for speeding: Maximum of $500
  • Speeding in a construction zone or school zone: Maximum of $1000
  • Intentionally speeding when operating a school bus: Maximum of $500 in fines and up to 60 days of jail time

Iowa

For speeding in Iowa, you have to get the base fine and add a $60 court cost plus a 35% surcharge to get the total amount of fines you have to pay.

Violation: Speed Over the LimitBase Fine
1 – 5 mph over$20
6 – 10 mph over$40
11 – 15 mph over$80
16 – 20 mph over$90
20 mph and above$100 plus an additional $5 for each mile

Note: Base Fine + Court Fee ($60) + 35% surcharge = Total Fine

Kansas

For speeding fines in Kansas, you do have to add a court cost of $108.

Violation: Speed Over the LimitBase Fine
1 – 10 mph over$45
11 – 20 mph over$51-$105
21 – 30 mph over$114-$195
31 – 40 mph over$210-$345
41 – 45 mph over$360-$420

Note: Base Fine + Court Fee ($108) = Total Fine

Kentucky

Kentucky has a similar system to Kansas, where an added court fee of $143 is imposed on top of the base fine.

Violation: Speed Over the LimitBase Fine
10 - 15 mph over$20-$30
16 – 20 mph over$32-$40
21 – 25 mph over$43-$55
26 mph and higher$60-$100 + possible license suspension

The fine will be doubled for anyone caught speeding in a highway work zone or in a school zone with lights flashing.

Note: Base Fine + Court Fee ($143) = Total Fine

Louisiana

Louisiana also adapts absolute speed limits, so make sure you know what they are for different areas.

Violation: Speed Over the LimitFine
1 - 9 mph over$157.50
10 – 14 mph over$257.50
15 – 20 mph over$282.50
25 mph and higherMust appear in court

If you’re caught speeding in a construction zone, the fine is $477.50.

Maine

The fine for violation of Maine’s basic speeding law is $134, and the fines for exceeding an absolute speed limit generally depend on the driver’s speed.

Violation: Speed Over the LimitFine
1 - 9 mph over$114
10 – 14 mph over$129
15 – 19 mph over$170
20 – 24 mph over$230
25 – 29 mph over$278
30mph or higherMaximum of $1,000 in fines, up to 6 months jail time, and 30-180 days license suspension

Maryland

The state of Maryland has a basic speeding law along with absolute speed limits, and violating these will incur a fine and point in a driver’s license.

Violation: Speed Over the Posted LimitFine
1 - 9 mph over$80
10 – 19 mph over$90
20 – 29 mph over$160
10 – 19 mph above a posted speed limit of 65 or 75mph$160
20 – 29 mph above a posted speed limit of 65 or 75mph$290
30 – 39 mph over$290
40 mph and above$530

Massachusetts

The fines in Massachusetts are pretty simple, but it’s also one of the states that issue a high number of speeding tickets.

  • 1 -10 mph over the limit: $50
  • More than 10mph over the limit: $10 per exceeding mph
  • Additional fee: $50 for Head Injury Fund Assessment Fee

Michigan

Michigan law uses a point system, and you may be referred to a special program, have your license suspended, or be sent to jail depending on how serious your violation is.

Violation: Speed Over the LimitPenalty
1 - 5 mph over$125.00
6 – 10 mph over$135.00
11 – 15 mph over$150.00
16 – 20 mph over$170.00
21 – 30 mph over$180.00
31mph or higher$195.00

Note: If you’re speeding in a construction zone, fines are doubled.

Minnesota

Minnesota adapts a basic speeding law and absolute and presumed limits. Here are the base fines for going over the limit:

Violation: Speed Over the LimitBase Fine
1 – 10 mph over$120.00
11 – 14 mph over$130.00
15 – 19 mph over$140.00
20 – 25 mph over$220.00
26 – 30 mph over$280.00
31mph or higher$380.00

Note: Stated values only include the base fine; court costs and other fees are not included

Mississippi

The cost of a fine in Mississippi largely depends on where the violation occurred, and it’s usually higher in construction and school zones.

ViolationFineJail Time
First OffenseMaximum of $100Maximum of 10 days
Second Offense (within a year)Maximum of $200Maximum of 20 days
Third Offense (within a year)Maximum of $500Maximum of 6 months
Operating a school bus in excess of either 45 or 50mph$25 - $100

Missouri

Missouri adapts a basic speeding law and absolute speed limits, where drivers may face jail time for serious offenses.

ViolationFineCourt CostTotal
1 - 5 mph over$18.50$68.50$87.00
6 – 10 mph over$28.50$72.50$101.00
11 – 15 mph over$53.50$72.50$126.00
16 – 19 mph over$78.50$72.50$151.00
20 – 25 mph over$153.50$72.50$226.00
26mph or higherMANDATORY COURT APPEARANCE
Speeding in a school zoneAdditional $25 to base fine
Speeding in a construction zoneAdditional $35 to base fine
Involving an accidentMANDATORY COURT APPEARANCE

Montana

Montana has fewer speed traps compared to other states, and the cost of a speeding ticket is not as high.

Violation: Speed Over the LimitBase Fine
1 – 10 mph over$40.00
11 – 20 mph over$70.00
21 – 30 mph over$120.00
31mph or higher$200.00

Nebraska

In Nebraska, a speeding violation is a traffic infraction, and points will also be added to your driving record – which may lead to license suspension if you accumulate too many points.

Violation: Speed Over the LimitFine
1 - 5 mph over$10.00
5 – 9 mph over$25.00
10 – 14 mph over$75.00
15 – 19 mph over$125.00
20 – 34 mph over$200.00
35mph or higher$300.00
 

Note: If you’re speeding in a school zone or construction zone, fines are doubled.

Nevada

Fines in Nevada are relatively expensive and a violation is considered a misdemeanor.

Violation: Speed Over the LimitFine
1 – 10 mph overFirst offense: $205.00
Second offense: $230.00
11 – 15mph over the limitFirst offense: $205.00
Second offense: $230.00
16 – 20 mph over the limitFirst offense: $205.00
Second offense: $230.00
21 mph over the limitFirst offense: $205.00
Second offense: $230.00

New Hampshire

New Hampshire adapts a basic speeding law and presumed speed limits, where fines depend on the driver’s speed.

Exceeding a Presumed Limit of 55mph or Less

Violation: Speed Over the LimitFine
1 -10 mph over$62.00
11 – 15 mph over$93.00
16 – 20 mph over$124.00
21 – 25 mph over$248.00
26 miles or higher$434.00

Exceeding a Presumed Limit of 65mph

Violation: Speed Over the LimitFine
1 – 5 mph over$80.60
6 – 10 mph over$124.00
11 – 15 mph over$186.00
16 – 20 mph over$310.00
21 miles or higher$434.00

Exceeding a Presumed Limit of 70mph

Violation: Speed Over the LimitFine
1 – 5 mph over$80.60
6 – 10 mph over$124.00
11 – 15 mph over$248.00
16 – 20 mph over$372.00
21 miles or higher$496.00

New Jersey

New Jersey has the highest number of speed traps, collecting over $30,000 per mile in fees.

Violation: Speed Over LimitFine: Speeding in a Posted ZoneFine: Speeding in a Construction Zone
1 – 9 mph$85.00$140.00
10 – 14 mph$95.00$160.00
15 – 19 mph$105.00$180.00
20 – 24 mph$200.00$360.00
25 – 29 mph$220.00$380.00
30 – 34 mph$240.00$400.00
35+ mph$260.00$420.00

New Mexico

New Mexico adapts a basic speeding law and absolute speed limits. The fines depend on the driver’s speed when compared to the reasonable speed or limit.

Violation: Speed Over the LimitFine
1 - 10 mph over$25.00
11 - 15 mph over$30.00
16 -20 mph over$65.00
21 - 25 mph over$100.00
26 - 30 mph over$125.00
31 -35 mph over$150.00
36mph or higher$200.00

Note: If the driver is speeding in a construction zone, this will normally amount to higher fines.

New York

New York fines include court surcharges. They also adapt a basic speeding law plus absolute speed limits for different areas.

Speeding in regular roads:

Violation: Speed Over the LimitFineCourt SurchargeTotal
1 – 10mph over$45-$150$88-$93$133-$243
11 – 20mph over$90-$300$88-$93$178-$383
21 – 30 mph over$90-$300$88-$93$178-$383
31 – 40 mph over$180-$600$88-$93$260-$693
41mph or higher$600$88-$93$688-$693

Speeding in school zones:

Violation: Speed Over the LimitFineCourt SurchargeTotal
1 – 10mph over$300$88-$93$393 max
11 – 20mph over$600$88-$93Max $693 max
21 – 30 mph over$600$88-$93$693 max
31 – 40 mph over$1,200$88-$93$1,293 max
41mph or higher$1,200$88-$93$1,293 max

North Carolina

In North Carolina, the fines that drivers pay include court costs and the fine itself depends on the speed at which the driver is going.

  • Fines:  $10 to $250
  • Court costs: $200 to $250
  • Total: $210 to $500
  • Speeding in school/construction zone: $250
  • Court costs: $200 to $250
  • Total: $450 to $500

North Dakota

North Dakota is one of the states with the lowest fines for speeding tickets. They also have the lowest speed traps.

Violation: Speed Over the LimitFine 
1 - 5 mph over$5
6 - 10 mph over$6-$10*Fine of $5 plus $1 for each mile per hour in excess of 5 miles per hour that the driver exceeds the limit.
11 - 15 mph over$11-$15*Fine of $10 plus $1 for each mile per hour in excess of 10 miles per hour that the driver exceeds the limit.
16 - 20 mph over$17-$25*Fine of $15 plus $2 for each mile per hour in excess of 15 miles per hour that the driver exceeds the limit.
21 - 25 mph over$28-$40*Fine of $25 plus $3 for each mile per hour in excess of 20 miles per hour that the driver exceeds the limit.
26 – 35 mph over$43-$70*Fine of $40 plus $3 for each mile per hour in excess of 25 miles per hour that the driver exceeds the limit.
36 – 45 mph$70-$100*Fine of $70 plus $3 for each mile per hour in excess of 35 miles per hour that the driver exceeds the limit.
46mph or higher$105+*Fine of $100 plus $5 for each mile per hour in excess of 45 miles per hour that the driver exceeds the limit.

Ohio

There are three types of speeding laws adapted by Ohio: a “basic speeding law,” “prima facie speed limits,” and “absolute speed limits.” These are the general penalties:

  • First and Second offense: maximum of $150.00
  • Third offense: maximum of $250
  • Fourth and subsequent offenses: maximum of $500

Note: A driver speeding in a posted construction show will be charged double the fine.

Oklahoma

Speeding violations in Oklahoma must be paid with a fine sometimes, jail time depending on the circumstances and number of offenses.

Violation: Speed Over the LimitFine
1 - 10 mph over$10.00
11 - 15 mph over$20.00
16 -20 mph over$35.00
21 - 25 mph over$75.00
26 - 30 mph over$135.00
31 -35 mph over$155.00
36mph or higher$205.00

Oregon

Oregon has a basic speeding law and it also adapts absolute speed limits. The fines are as follows:

Violation: Speed Over the LimitFine
1 -10 mph over$115
11 – 20 mph over$165
21 - 30 mph over$265
31mph and higher$440*if the driver has at least one speeding violation within the past year, a license suspension of up to 30 days is possible
100mph and higher$1,150 plus mandatory 90-day license suspension

Speeding in a school or construction zone:

Violation: Speed Over the LimitFine
1 -10 mph over$225
11 – 20 mph over$325
21 - 30 mph over$525
31mph and higher$875*if the driver has at least one speeding violation within the past year, a license suspension of up to 30 days is possible
100mph and higher$1,150 plus mandatory 90-day license suspension

Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania charges a base of $35, with an additional $2 for every mile in excess of five miles per hour over the limit. So aside from the guide below, you can compute the exact fines.

Violation: Speed Over the LimitFineEMSJCPCourt CostMCARE SurchargeTotal
1-5 mph over$35$10$10$40$60$155
6-10 mph over$37-$45$10$10$40$60$157-$165
11-20 mph over$47-$65$10$10$40$60$167-$185
21-30 mph over$67-$85$10$10$40$60$187-$205
31-40 mph over$87-$105$10$10$40$60$207-$225
41+ mph over$107+$10$10$40$60$227+

Rhode Island

Rhode Island adapts a presumed speed limit, which means a driver can drive over the speed limit as long as he’s driving safely. Nevertheless, the fines are as follows:

 Violation: Speed Over the LimitFineOther Penalties
First offense1 – 10 mph$95N/A
11mph and above$95 + additional $10 for every mile overN/A
Second offense (within 1 year)1 – 10 mph$10 for every mile overN/A
11mph and above$15 for every mile overN/A
Third offense (within 1 year)1 – 10 mph$15 for every mile over20-day license suspension plus mandatory court hearing
11mph and above$20 for every mile overUp to 60 days of license suspension plus mandatory court hearing
Fourth offense (4th speeding ticket or other moving violation within 18 months)Up to $1000Revoked license or suspended license for up to 2 years, mandatory 60 hours of community service, and attend a 60-hour driver retraining course

South Carolina

In South Carolina, speeding is considered a misdemeanor, with fines depending on how fast the driver was going.

Violation: Speed Over the LimitBase FineTotal Fine (with assessment fee)
1-10 mph over$15 – $25$61.13 – $81.88
11-15 mph over$25 – $50$81.88 – $133.75
16-25 mph over$50 – $75$133.75 – $185.63
26mph and higher$75 – $200$185.63  – $445 (plus 30 days jail time)

South Dakota

Speeding violations are classified as a class 2 misdemeanor in South Dakota. The fines listed below do includes the court fees.

Violation: Speed Over the LimitFine
1 – 5 mph over$85.00
6 – 10 mph over$105.00
11 – 15 mph over$125.00
16 – 20 mph over$145.00
21 – 25 mph over$165.00
26mph or higher$200.00

Tennessee

The cost of a speeding ticket in Tennessee depends on the location of the violation and the speed of the driver. Aside from the fine, some points will be added to a driver’s record.

Violation: Speed Over the LimitFine
1 – 14 mph over$111.50
15 - 24 mph over$121.50
25 mph over the limit or in a school zone$146.50

Texas

The speeding fine for Texas starts at $146 for speeding 3 miles over the limit. From there, an additional $5 will be charged for every exceeding mile.

Violation: Speed Over the LimitFine
3 miles over$146.00
4 miles over$151.00
5 miles over$156.00
6 miles over$161.00
7 miles over$166.00
8 miles over$171.00
9 miles over$176.00
10 miles over$181.00
11 miles over$186.00
12 miles over$191.00
13 miles over$196.00
14 miles over$201.00
15 miles over$206.00
16 miles over$211.00
17 miles over$216.00
18 miles over$221.00
19 miles over$226.00
20 miles over$231.00
21 miles over$236.00
22 miles over$241.00
23 miles over$246.00
24 miles over$251.00
25 miles or more over the speed limit$297.00

Utah

In Utah, a speeding violation is considered a traffic infraction, where violators have to pay a fine and have points added to their record.

First Offense

Violation: Speed Over the LimitFine
1 -10 mph over$120
11 – 15 mph over$150
16 – 20 mph over$200
21 – 25 mph over$270
26 – 30 mph over$370
31 mph or higher$470 (additional $10 for every mph over 31)

Second Offense

Violation: Speed Over the LimitFine
0 – 9 mph over$140.00
10 – 19 mph over$370.00
20 mph or higher$780.00

Speeding in a Construction Zone

Violation: Speed Over the LimitFine
1 -10 mph over$170.00
11 – 15 mph over$220.00
16 – 20 mph over$320.00
21 – 25 mph over$470.00
26 – 30 mph over$670.00
31 mph or higher$870 with an additional fee of $20 for every mph over 31

Speeding in a School Zone

(The full version is listed in Utah Code Ann. § 41-6a-60. The following fines are imposed for a first offense)

Violation: Speed Over the LimitFine
0 – 9 mph over$140.00
10 – 19 mph over$240.00
20 mph or higher$440.00

Vermont

Vermont adapts a basic speeding law and absolute limits, and speeding fines depend on the location and how fast the driver was going.

Violation: Speed Over the LimitFine
1 mile over$47.00
2 miles over$53.00
3 miles over$59.00
4 miles over$64.00
5 miles over$70.00
6 miles over$76.00
7 miles over$82.00
8 miles over$87.00
9 miles over$93.00
10 miles over$99.00
11 miles over$117.00
12 miles over$124.00
13 miles over$131.00
14 miles over$138.00
15 miles over$145.00
16 miles over$152.00
17 miles over$159.00
18 miles over$166.00
19 miles over$173.00
20 miles over$179.00
21 miles over$211.00
22 miles over$219.00
23 miles over$227.00
24 miles over$235.00
25 miles over$243.00
26 miles over$251.00
27 miles over$259.00
28 miles over$267.00
29 miles over$275.00
30 miles over$283.00
31 miles over$327.00
32 miles over$336.00
33 miles over$345.00
34 miles over$354.00
35 miles over$363.00
36 miles over$373.00
37 miles over$382.00
38 miles over$391.00
39 miles over$400.00
40 miles over$409.00
41 miles over$419.00
42 miles over$428.00
43 miles over$437.00
44 miles over$446.00
45 miles over$455.00
46 miles over$465.00
47 miles over$474.00
48 miles over$483.00
49 miles over$492.00
50 miles over$501.00

Virginia

Virginia is a state known for its strict speeding laws, which may include jail time if you drive recklessly. The state generally charges a $6 fine for every mile over the speed limit.

Violation: Speed Over the LimitPenalty
1 - 5 mph over$6 - $30
6 – 10 mph over$36 to $60
11 – 15 mph over$66 to $90
16 – 20 mph over$96 to $120
21 – 25 mph over$126 to $150
26mph or higher$156+

Speeding in a school or work zone: $7/mph over the limit

Violation: Speed Over the LimitPenalty
1 - 5 mph over$7 to $35
6 – 10 mph over$42 to $70
11 – 15 mph over$77 to $105
16 – 20 mph over$112 to $140
21 – 25 mph over$147 to $175
26mph or higher$182+

Speeding through a residential area: $8/mph over the limit with an additional $200 in total

Violation: Speed Over the LimitPenalty
1 - 5 mph over$208 to $240
6 – 10 mph over$248 to $280
11 – 15 mph over$288 to $320
16 – 20 mph over$328 to 360
21 – 25 mph over$368 to $400
26mph or higher$408+

Speeding on a highway: Fine of $200 to $500

Washington

Washington has a basic speeding law and absolute speed limits. Fines are as follows:

If the posted speed limit is 40 MPH or lower

Violation: Speed Over the LimitPenalty
1 - 5 mph over$128
6 – 10 mph over$139
11 – 15 mph over$169
16 – 20 mph over$210
21 – 25 mph over$262
26 – 30 mph over$313
31 -35 mph over$364
35 mph or higher$426

If the posted speed limit is higher than 40 MPH

Violation: Speed Over the LimitPenalty
1 - 5 mph over$108
6 – 10 mph over$128
11 – 15 mph over$159
16 – 20 mph over$190
21 – 25 mph over$221
26 – 30 mph over$262
31 -35 mph over$313
36 - 40 mph over$364
40 mph or higher$426

Note: These amounts only include the fine of the ticket itself.

West Virginia

Speeding violations in West Virginia are considered a misdemeanor, and a driver may face jail time for multiple offenses.

Violation: Speed Over the LimitFine
First offenseMaximum of $100
Second offense (within a year)Maximum of $200
Third offense and above (within a two-year period)Maximum of $500*if the third violation involves a speed that’s at least 15 miles per hour over the limit, the driver faces up to six months in jail and/or a maximum of $500 in fines.
School zone violations$100 - $500*if the driver has exceeded the speed limit by at least 15 mph, he will face up to six months in jail and/or $100 to $500 in fines

Wisconsin

Wisconsin adapts a basic speeding law and fixed speed limits. Additional costs are also put on top of the base fine.

 Base FineCourt Support Services FeeCourt costCrime Lab and Drug AssessmentTotal
First offense$30-$300$68$25$13$136-$406
Second offense$80-$600$68$25$13$186-$706

Note: Speeding in construction or school zone may double the fine.

Wyoming

Wyoming classifies speeding tickets as a misdemeanor, where drivers either pay a fine, face jail time, or both.

 FineJail Time
First OffenseMaximum of $100Maximum of 20 days
Second Offense (within a year)Maximum of $300Maximum of 30 days
Third Offense or subsequent offenses (within a year)Maximum of $500Maximum of 6 months

Speeding violations more than 10 mph over the limit in a school zone

 Fine
First Offense$200 - $750
Second Offense (within a year)$400 - $1000

Conclusion

Speeding violations are indeed a serious matter. Regardless if you’re a native or a foreigner, you must abide by the speed limit and follow traffic rules to avoid getting in trouble with the law.

You may have observed that some states have other charges on top of the fine and others have additional penalties like points in your license. I hope the breakdown of speeding fines and fees give you a more specific idea of how much you need to pay if you went above the limit.

With this information in mind, know that it’s still best to buckle up and follow the law. And as always, drive safely!


William

Latest posts by William (see all)