How Much is a Speeding Ticket in California & Other States?
RRD is reader-supported. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a commission. Read more.

How Much is a Speeding Ticket in California?

Speeding tickets in California cost around $300. It includes costs like the processing fee, the fine and the court fees. You can expect to pay around $230 traffic ticket for 1 to 15 mph over the limit, $360 for 16 to 25 mph over, and nearly $500 for 26+ mph over.

California has some of the strictest laws in the U.S. when it comes to speeding. It is therefore important that you get all of the information you can, especially about how much a speeding ticket in California costs. You can also find out the costs of the offense in other states with our handy speeding ticket calculator.

If you are ever issued a citation for speeding, it’s good to know how much you will likely pay. While figuring out the exact amount of your ticket can be tricky, this article will help.

Without fighting the ticket, the penalty will be:

Speeding Ticket Costs in California

Speeding in Construction Zones

Usually, speeding ticket cost goes from a fine of $150 to $200. However, if the fine was cited in a construction zone it’s a significantly higher penalty. The greater the speed over the limit, the greater the speeding ticket price. Traffic ticket charge can be quite costly as you see.

You will end up paying around $360 for 1 to 15 mph over the limit, $525 for 16 to 25 mph over, and $650 for 26+ mph over.

speeding ticket costs

Safety Enhancement Zones

If you were to be cited for speeding in a “safety enhancement zone”, you will also pay more than you normally would. These tickets cost around $280 for 1 to 15 mph over the limit, $400 for 16 to 25 mph over, and a little over $500 for 26+ mph over.

Insurance Cost

While you will have to pay a fine for your speeding ticket in California, there’s also the increased cost of your insurance. This is something that doesn’t occur to many people at first, but they inevitably find out later on. Your annual insurance cost can go up an additional $200 per year for just one ticket.

You should always make a point of calling your insurance company when receiving a speeding ticket. This way you can find out exactly how much extra you can expect to pay for at least the next year. The larger the ticket amount, the more you can expect your insurance premium to rise.

While the cost of your insurance will eventually go back down (provided you don’t get any further tickets), it can take a while. You can talk to an agent from the company to find out when you can expect your rate to drop.

You can most likely save some money by enrolling in California Traffic School. By doing this your provider will probably keep your rate the same so it doesn’t skyrocket. It is definitely worth it when you consider all of the money you’ll end up saving. You can also check other ways to avoid speeding tickets here: https://www.ratedradardetector.org/blog/tips-avoiding-speeding-tickets/.

There are certain eligibility requirements for attending traffic school. For example, you must have a valid driver’s license. If you have attended traffic school for a previous violation in the last 18 months, you will be ineligible. 

You will be able to find a complete list of these requirements on the official county website. It is a good idea to look though the list before applying.

california speeding ticket

Additional Fees

While the base fee of a ticket for 1 to 15 mph over the speed limit is $35, there are other fees to consider when talking about the total cost of speeding ticket in California. 

Surcharges

The state of California puts a 20% surcharge on all traffic tickets, including ones for speeding. The court operation cost alone is $40, but there is also a conviction assessment fee of $35. 

Speaking of court, you should also what you should say in court that can best defend your case when you have a speeding ticket.

Penalties

Depending on the circumstances of your speeding ticket, you might also be required to pay penalty fees. There is a court penalty assessment fee of $7 for every $10 of the ticket’s base fine. The state penalty assessment fee is 100% of the base fine. The DNA identification fund penalty assessment is $4 for every $10 of the base fine.

These fees quickly add up and can cost you a lot of money. While you might not have to pay every single fee that exists, you’ll most likely have to pay quite a few. This means that a $35 ticket can easily run up to over $200. 

Other Fees

If you are planning to use a credit card to pay for your ticket, you’ll most likely be charged extra. A lot of jurisdictions charge these fees, so you should be prepared. While paying online can be convenient, it can also cost you. Paying in person or with a check can definitely save you some money on your ticket. But before paying, check this article for some proven ways to get your ticket dismissed.
Resources:
https://www.courts.ca.gov/8452.htm


William
Latest posts by William (see all)